Insanity
I've been running the same work/life balance plan since I started my new job in February. In retrospect, it wasn't much of a plan. I just threw a full-time job on top of the two I already had: taking care of Alexa and running our household. I kept thinking it would get easier. Instead, it got harder. I got more tired. I got more frustrated. I kept saying to myself, "it will be better next week. I can figure this out."
The problem is, I'm the most simple complex person you'll ever meet. I've always got all kinds of complex madness and crazy ideas running through my head. But the simple truth is, there is a very straightforward formula that keeps me happy. I need to spend time with my family. I need to eat healthy food. I need to live in a clean house. I need to feel good about how I look. That's it. That's my formula.
So, I had the epiphany today that I don't have all the ingredients to mix up my magic formula on my own now that we have the bambino. I can NOT do this all myself. (And by myself I mean with the amazing support and help from Picard. He does quite a bit around here too, but his butt is dragging as low as mine is right now.) I.....WE.... need some help. I had two major mental barriers to get over:
1. I AM a mom - I've been trying so hard not to look like a schleppy mommy mom, that I've been actually making it harder on myself. I've come to the harsh reality that I am going to have to figure out some appearance short cuts to keep myself looking decent and thus keep myself happy. Getting frustrated every day because I don't have the time I need to get ready for the day wasn't helping. Rather than trying to cram my old schedule into my new life, today I put the wheels in motion to do things differently.
2. I DO live in Indiana - Hired help is not a popular concept in Indiana. I had a hard enough time telling people I have a nanny. Today I signed up for organic produce delivery and asked an old friend if she could help clean the house for some money on the side. I'm working on being proud of my choices.

3 Comments:
Hooray for you!!! I'm celebrating you taking the steps you feel you need to in order to find better balance...I know this has been hard and I'm proud of you! I'm also thrilled to see that Alexa is feeling so much better and is back to herself. Hugs to all!
Dana
Don't you wish you lived closer to family so you could ask for there help & support?
There are no gold medals for cleaning your bathroom. Feeling that you MUST clean your own home is just masochistic. Every minute you aren't cleaning is a minute you can play with Alexa! Smart move.
I can't talk about self-care. My frizzy wet hair is in a ponytail and I'm wearing an old sweatshirt. Makeup? Ha! I wish! BUT, I have started back in Pilates. I'm with you on feeling good!
Take good care. It will even out soon.
Lori
Post a Comment
<< Home